Several political parties and individuals have so far picked nomination forms from the Electoral Commission (EC) to contest for president in the December polls.

These comprise seven independent presidential aspirants and 15 political parties. The political parties include the National Democratic Congress (NDC), the New Patriotic Party (NPP), the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), the National Democratic Party (NDP), the United Development System Party (UDSP), the People’s National Convention (PNC), and the United Love Party (ULP).

Others are the Independent People’s Party (IPP), the United Progressive Party (UPP), the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP), the United Front Party (UFP), Democratic People’s Party (DPP), All People’s Congress (APC), Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP) and Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD).

The independent candidates are Mr Jacob Osei Yeboah, Mr Kwaku Antwi Owusu, Mr Lawrence Yamil Nketia, Mr Kwame Asiedu Walker, Chief Dr Yaw Kumi, John Alex Hamah, and Major Ibrahim Rida (rtd).

The EC began issuing out nomination forms on Tuesday, September 13, 2016. Presidential candidates are to pay a filing fee of GHS 50,000 while parliamentary candidates will pay GHS 10,000.