The Electoral Commission (EC) has disqualified 24 parliamentary aspirants in the Ashanti Region from contesting this year’s election.

Reports gathered by our Ashanti Regional correspondent, Isaac Owusu indicate that out of the 240 aspirants who filed their nomination on Friday, only 216 were cleared to represent their respective political parties as parliamentary candidates in the elections.

Out of the 24, some were disqualified based on the fact that they were not able to pay their filing fee (GHC 10, 000) while others were not able to properly fill their forms.

Even though the list of disqualified aspirants is not yet out, unconfirmed report indicate that candidates from the New Patriotic Party (NPP), National Democratic Congress (NDC), Convention People’s Party (CPP) and the Progressive People’s Party (PPP) have qualified to contest in the December 7 elections.