Five members has been cleared by New Patriotic Party to contest in the Abuakwa North parliamentary primaries set for Tuesday, March 1.
The party vetted six persons but only five will be contesting.
The Abuakwa North seat became vacant after an 18-year-old boy attacked and murdered the incumbent MP JB Danquah-Adu in his bedroom earlier this month.
The five are Kyei Brobbey former Headmaster of Ofori Panin Secondary school in the Eastern region, Gifty Twum-Ampofo a Tutor, Akosombo International School, Isaac Ampadu a Businessman, Osei Twum Ampofo a former Headmaster, Nkawkaw Secondary school and Professor Emeritus Samuel Amoako a University Professor in USA and a former MP for the area.
The Eastern regional director of communications for the NPP David Prah said whoever wins the primaries will be supported to win the bye-elections.
In all 375 members of the NPP from 64 polling stations are expected to select a candidate for the by-elections on March 29.